Summer Madness - Richard Elliot

Summer Madness

Richard Elliot

  • Genre: Jazz
  • Release Date: 2016-09-09
  • Explicitness: notExplicit
  • Country: USA
  • Track Count: 10


Summer Madness - Richard Elliot
Carátula Frontal Summer Madness - Richard Elliot Portada



    5 / 5
    By VLBeck
    With the release of “Summer Madness,” tenor saxophonist Richard Elliot proves that he’s still on top of his game! Each track is unique, but they all come together to create a cohesive, “feel-good” album. There are three cover tunes – “Cachaca” by Spyro Gyra, “Europa” by Santana, and “Summer Madness” by Earth Wind & Fire – and while Richard stayed true to the original melodies, he put his own touches on them and gave them a fresh sound. The horn section on “Cachaca” sounds amazing without being overpowering, and the song has more of a dance groove. The first time I listened to Richard’s version of “Europa,” it brought tears to my eyes because he played it with such deep emotion. I never thought I would hear a version of “Europa” that I liked better than Gato Barbieri’s, but I believe Richard has won me over! “Summer Madness” has a hypnotic vibe to it, and Richard’s EWI (electronic wind instrument) recreates the synthesized parts from the original beautifully. The other seven songs are original compositions that Richard co-wrote with producer Rick Braun and various members of his band. “Breakin’ It Down” has a laid-back, funky groove, and the layered trumpet & trombone parts played by Rick Braun add a cool flair to the mix. “West Coast Jam” begins with a woman exclaiming, “Are you ready to dance?!”, and believe me, you’d better be ready! It’s a signature Richard Elliot tune that’ll get your toes tappin’ and your head boppin’ in no time! “Harry The Hipster” is indeed hip, almost too cool for its own good. I especially like the way the horns punctuate the choruses, and Ron Reinhardt serves up a smokin’ keyboard solo on this one. “Slam-O-Rama” lives up to its name, with its driving beat, intense melody, and powerful horn section that reckons back to Richard’s “Tower of Power” days. “Back To You,” co-written by bassist Nathaniel Phillips, is my favorite track on the whole CD. Its sweet melody just flows so beautifully on Richard’s sax, and I can’t help but sing along every time the track plays. “Ludicrous Speed” is another tune that lives up to its name, with its fast chord changes and breathtaking runs up and down Richard’s saxophone. Again, the horn section and percussion supply the energy that keeps this song racing onward. The CD wraps up with “Mr. Nate’s Wild Ride,” another tune penned by bassist Nathaniel Phillips. The horn section really sizzles over Nate’s funky, driving bass line, and Richard delivers some amazing sax work. I’ve read that Richard Elliot wanted his CD, “Summer Madness,” to be a throwback to the great horn bands that he grew up listening to, and I’d have to say that he succeeded! It’s a great album, from beginning to end. Pick up a copy today!
  • NICE

    4 / 5
    By timspin1
    It is funky and mellow good sound nice songs I believe these new songs will sound great live ( europa,and when a man loves a woman back to back live and Mr Nate s wild ride would be a great opening song, Harry the hipster would sound great live ( cant wait to see him in november)
  • ALWAYS like Richard E..BUTT..

    3 / 5
    By RelaxedMike
    My man Elliot latched on to the commercail venue, And..he;s good at it! Somehow though, I've always thought he was more capable. CD is funky..I'll give it that..but no more. Just wish he;s expanf his chops!

Videos from this artist